Manish Pansiniya's Blog

.NET, C#, Javascript, ASP.NET and lots more…:)

Windows 2003 ASP.NET Page Gives 404 File Not Found Error

with 36 comments

Today, one of my colleges shows me that I had the error which denies access to ASP.NET page (.aspx,.asmx,.asax) and shows 404 file not found.

I have tried 1 to 2 hour for just googling around for resolving this issue. But I could not think of keywords to search for. Then following steps resolved my problems. Thanks to GOD, GOOGLE and my MIND too 🙂

Basically first thing I did is put .txt and .asp file and test if it works for that extension. And It Worked !!!

Now next thing I did is go to the IIS log and see the entry of that request. It shows me something like

<Request data> …. 404 2 1260.

Now, From this, I googled and found out that this is 404.2 error and it is policy lockdown. Uhhh!! Found the problem.

Now, searched google about resolving this policy lockdown error. To resolve this. Goto IIS and expand the Main Server Node. Find the “Web Server Extension” directory and click on it. It shows list of extension to the right side. Please look at that amazing thing and somewhere your page is prohibited under that configuration. Please enable it and hurray!!! You are on your way.

Written by Manish

December 22, 2006 at 11:17 am

Posted in .NET

36 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks Manish!!!!

    Solved our problem…I was banging my head on a wall to figure this out.

    Sean

    Sean W

    March 22, 2007 at 1:32 am

  2. ARGH – I spent two days wondering… “WHY WONT IT SERVE THE DAMN PAGE???”

    Never though of looking there, a sys admin gave a VM with Win2003 and IIS configured, and told me to put the app on there.

    Runs like a champ now, thanks!

    Rev. Layle

    March 30, 2007 at 4:38 pm

  3. OMG!!!! funny for me that was the first place I looked at but wasn’t paying attention. I was merely clicking on anything I could find hoping I find anything that has the word “ASP” but not “Active Server Pages”, why was it set to PROHIBITED damn!!!! One day it was working and then the next it stopped. Two weeks later I stumble into this page with google search string “IIS ASP file are not resolving”. I knew the IIS itself is not too blame as my PHP extension is working perfectly.

    Well anyways, you help me heaps. Thanks very much.

    Quan Do

    September 26, 2007 at 3:31 am

  4. Ahhhhhhhhh

    That was driving me crazy

    wads

    November 23, 2007 at 10:43 am

  5. LOL :). me too mad while finding the same 😛

    Manish Pansiniya

    November 23, 2007 at 2:05 pm

  6. Thank you! Saved me a lot of time

    Anonymous

    January 3, 2008 at 5:48 am

  7. THANK YOU MANISH!!! A few of us were ready to jump out the window 🙂

    J Stafford

    January 11, 2008 at 9:15 am

  8. LOL 🙂

    Manish Pansiniya

    January 11, 2008 at 5:10 pm

  9. Thank you!! This was exactly my problem!

    Anonymous

    February 1, 2008 at 11:21 am

  10. Thanks for your tips!!

    I had it all working on IIS 5.0 (Windows 2000 Server) and used exactly the same configurations on IIS 6.0 (Windows 2003 Server), but just couldn’t have the included header/footer rendered! Finally came across your page from an answer of someone’s comment on a Forum through Google.

    Really helpful information, thanks again.

    Sherman

    March 3, 2008 at 10:27 pm

  11. Hey thanks! i was getting the same issue

    :o)

    Manuel

    April 10, 2008 at 5:39 pm

  12. You saved me from spending hours surfing for
    an answer to this problem. Thanks…

    Gert Claassen

    April 15, 2008 at 8:42 am

  13. Thank you VERY VERY MUCH!!!

    My ASP page worked under Win2000, and I was completely confused, why doesn’t it work under 2003… Thanks ^)

    Riki

    April 16, 2008 at 12:49 pm

  14. I would put you before GOD in my case. Thanks

    dork

    April 24, 2008 at 7:49 pm

  15. Ahhh…No No. I am not bigger then GOD. But I have spent many hours into this problem and so thought of sharing. Power of Blogs and Power of Internet helps you my friend.

    Manish Pansiniya

    April 25, 2008 at 4:03 am

  16. Haha I had the same problem now. Thanks for the help.

    Andre

    June 3, 2008 at 4:57 pm

  17. I found this page instantly after looking to the error in google. I bet it saved me lots of time if I tried to solve it myself.

    Many thanks!!!

    Sandust

    June 4, 2008 at 6:33 pm

  18. Thanks man, saved the day!

    Knut Hamang

    June 13, 2008 at 9:06 am

  19. I feel silly for not finding this earlier, but sure enough that was the exact issue. Thanks for the pointer!

    Anonymous

    June 18, 2008 at 3:06 pm

  20. Life saver

    Bob

    July 16, 2008 at 3:36 am

  21. You are the man:)

    Anonymous

    September 1, 2008 at 11:02 am

  22. Great tip!! Same problem, same solution!

    Maurizio Oliveri

    September 23, 2008 at 5:15 pm

  23. You are my new favourite person. Thank you *so* much for having blogged this and coming up near the top of Google!

    Owen Blacker

    September 30, 2008 at 8:01 pm

  24. Thanks, it helped me as well.

    San Nayak

    November 14, 2008 at 5:34 pm

  25. Thanks. I had the same problem with asp files on a new W2003 installation. html was working but not the asp files.

    It’s IIS Manager/Web Service Extensions/Allow each relevant lines

    Eric Bernal

    November 21, 2008 at 6:59 pm

  26. Same problem here. New Win 2003 install. I was certain I checked that 3 or 4 times… Sure enough, found this thead, went back and looked right at it. The ASP.NET extension was Prohibited. So, this one fixed my issue. Thanks!

    Eddie

    November 22, 2008 at 4:39 pm

  27. hello it is test. WinRAR provides the full RAR and ZIP file support, can decompress CAB, GZIP, ACE and other archive formats.

    xuxppxxuxyyy

    December 27, 2008 at 8:48 am

  28. uazfrnljnrplkxmmwell, hi admin adn people nice forum indeed. how’s life? hope it’s introduce branch 😉

    artehigheplark

    December 27, 2008 at 6:56 pm

  29. THANK YOU SO MUCH. I knew it was something being prohibited but couldn’t think where to turn it on!

    Lothie

    February 5, 2009 at 11:18 pm

  30. Well I have the same problem. Trying to browse an asmx page and I get 404.

    So I have allowed Active Server Pages and I still get the same issue….and this is on the local machine.

    Any other ideas pls?

    Richard

    February 23, 2009 at 11:10 am

  31. Thanks really really really really much!

    Fabrizio

    March 9, 2009 at 9:20 am

  32. Spent 2 days struggling with this as well. Hope your pages moves up in the search.

    Bob

    March 16, 2009 at 9:13 pm

  33. LOL.

    Yes, it should be first incase of such a problem. I also got irritated when i faced this issue.

    neway..atleast people are finding thats good. And saves time as well as energy 😛

    Manish

    March 19, 2009 at 2:58 pm

  34. I had the same problem! Thanks a lot!

    robert7

    April 28, 2010 at 4:09 pm

  35. Same problem. This article helped me solve it. Hurrayyy.
    Thanks a ton Manish 🙂

    Purnil

    June 22, 2011 at 11:40 am

  36. Howdy! I could have sworn I’ve visited this blog before but after going through many of the articles I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyhow, I’m certainly pleased I found it and I’ll be bookmarking it and checking back often!

    fan facebook

    July 16, 2013 at 6:26 pm


Leave a Reply

