Manish Pansiniya's Blog

.NET, C#, Javascript, ASP.NET and lots more…:)

Calling executable from ASP.NET (watin with ASP.NET)

leave a comment »

In my current project, I need to call watin library which in turn calls IExplorer.exe from ASP.NET website. You can say it is screen scraping project or something like that.

So first of all I tried to impersonate the user from ASP.NET account. That worked for me but sometimes it gives me error or unexpected behaviour. Also, I noticed that in windows server 2003, there may be problem of executing the exe.

So i changed the solution by making one windows service, which watch one folder by using FileSystemWatcher. From ASP.NET application, I generate the data file to that folder. That file is picked by windows service immediately and processed. After processing, I delete the file. And ASP.NET application, by using callback, shows the status.

I believe this is the easiest solution but if you have any suggestion let me know.

 

Written by Manish

January 13, 2007 at 1:03 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

