Manish Pansiniya's Blog

.NET, C#, Javascript, ASP.NET and lots more…:)

Managing Stress : Swami Sukhabodhananda Way

with 9 comments

Managing Stress
Swami Sukhabodhananda

One youngster comes to me very depressed and asks this question "Why is God creating so many difficulties for us? How to handle stress?" I tell this youngster to reflect on this beautiful story:

A man goes to a shop, picks up a beautiful cup and says "my god this cup is so beautiful" and suddenly the cup starts talking to the man. The cup starts saying "O man, I am beautiful right now, but what was the state of my being before the pot-maker made me a beautiful pot?

Before I was sheer mud and the pot-maker pulled me out of the mud from the mother earth and I felt why that pot-maker is so cruel, he has separated me from mother earth. I felt a tremendous pain. And the pot-maker said, "Just wait." Then he put me and churned me, when I was churned I felt so giddy, so painful, so stressful, I asked the pot-maker "Why are you so cruel?" the pot-maker said, "Just wait." Then he put me into a oven and heated me up, I felt completely burnt. There was tremendous pain and I asked the pot-maker "Why are you so cruel?" and the pot-maker said, "Just wait."

Then he poured hot paint on me and I felt the fume and the pain, I again asked the pot-maker "Why are you so cruel?" and the pot-maker said, "Just wait." Then again he put me into an oven and heated it to make me more strong, I felt life is so painful hence pleaded the pot-maker and the pot-maker said, "Just wait." And after that the pot-maker took me to the mirror and said, "Now look at yourself". And surprisingly I found myself so beautiful.

When god gives us lot of trouble, it appears god is very cruel but we need patience and we have to wait. When bad things happen to good people, they become better and not bitter.

So, all difficulties are part of a cosmic design to make us really beautiful. We need patience, we need understanding, we need the commitment to go through in a very calm and wise way. So, all difficulties are not to tumble us but to humble us.
With this understanding, let us not be against difficulty. Understand difficulty is a part of a purifying process. A purifying process at present which we cannot understand and hence we need faith and we need trust.

Let us understand how to handle stress with this background. You can be affected by stress from two angles. There is an internal stress and there is an external stress. Nobody can avoid stress; one has to only manage stress. Managing stress can be internal and also external.

The internal stress is; your thoughts can create stress, your values can create stress, and your beliefs can create stress, meaning thereby your stress is coming from your mind more from the outer world. Many people suffer not from heart attack – they suffer from thought-attack.

For example, when somebody says you are an idiot, we get so hurt, we get so victimized. My boss has called me an idiot and I am feeling tremendous pain. Now where does this stress come from? If my boss has called me an idiot, I have to ask myself "am I an idiot"?

If I am an idiot nothing to be upset about; and if I am not an idiot, then also nothing to be upset about! It is the perception of the boss. But why do we suffer from that stress? I suffer not because my boss has called me an idiot but because of the thought-attack.

I may say the boss has called me an idiot; therefore I am suffering? It is true that the words are unpleasant. But what hurts is the interpretation of the unpleasant word. The thought in me interprets. That is pain and therefore it becomes pain. Much of our stress is our mind interpreting it as pain. So we suffer from thought-attack more than heart attack

🙂 Nice Article

Written by Manish

April 16, 2009 at 3:16 pm

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hello this was an article that left me with somethings to think about. Thank you for these words of wisdom.

    I have thought deeply and I understand that difficulties are a part of life. My
    ‘boss’is such an unfair person to me that I feel to run away from this place but yet I stay and and strive
    God I hope will one day bring some justice to this situation.
    But until then I must be patient and these words /story will help me.

    Kathy - Ann G

    August 7, 2009 at 7:50 pm

    • You are right. There are some situation in life when we feel really sad about someone but actually that was our interpretation or may be our thoughts for the same.

      “I may say the boss has called me an idiot; therefore I am suffering? It is true that the words are unpleasant. But what hurts is the interpretation of the unpleasant word. The thought in me interprets. ”

      Actually, if thoughts are useful for us to need to be changed, think and do something, else leave that..thats all.

      Manish

      August 7, 2009 at 7:57 pm

  2. Hi all, i really know how it is to have a problem like this. I have been struggling from it like a few months with the normal ups and downs so i really know its not fun when you have a problem like this. At a website i noticed some people were really happy about a pill they purchased from the internet and i also ordered it when i found those pills at – herbalhealingstore dot com -. So you see, those pills do work, you only have to find the good ones!

    Yvonne Saul

    March 20, 2010 at 8:43 am

  3. All examples are eye opeaning to any body goes thro it my self more inspired by guruji

    mukundachandra m r

    May 18, 2010 at 5:49 pm

    • Yup Mukund. I like to hear his pravachanas. Lot of depth and interesting thoughts.

      Manish

      July 13, 2010 at 10:11 pm

  4. http://www.arindamchaudhuri.com/stress-kill-it-before-it-kills-you.html

    Before I start talking about managing stress lets talk about what is stress and what causes stress.

    Gabbar Singh

    June 24, 2011 at 2:08 am

  5. This article is really inspiring and touching,life is just like an ice-cream taste it before it melts.So,it is upto us how effectively we manage stress to make life really easy going and not fussy.Stress by default is part of our lives but we should not allow it to overtake us rather we should change our attitude towards things,we need to change our perception towars things so that we can successfully takeover stress.

    parmeet kaur

    November 9, 2011 at 10:14 am

  6. i read the book o life relax please & o mind relax please which gives me strength for my stres still then i repeatedly remember a bad time of my life which keep me unhappy.i repeatedly read these books which give me temparary strength but the bad time ringing in my ear.what can i do.

    s.k mohapatra

    March 28, 2014 at 5:24 pm

    • Hi,

      Actually No Books can give you permanent relief or happiness unless you make it a habit. So start making things which gives you happiness a strong habit. that is all. No more explaination needed. If pranayam or meditation gives you relxation and you dont do it everyday, its your fault, not book fault that you could not continue that for your good 🙂

      Bit harsh but true,
      Manish

      Manish

      March 28, 2014 at 5:27 pm


Leave a Reply

